Use of Row Change Reason

Topics: Questions About Best Practices
Editor
Aug 31, 2010 at 4:10 AM

Hi, I'm new to SSIS but have spent the last 5 years doing Kimball on Cognos/Oracle so my challenge is applying the same concepts on a different platform.  I must say I'm actually really enjoying the technology with 2008 R2 SSIS and this great SCD component.  One thing I'm just coming to terms with however is the use of the Row Change Reason which I think is a great feature.

I note that your v1.5 YouTube demo Todd, you create derived column transformations for each SCD output.  My question is why not just use the Row Change Reason special output column from the component?  If I use the RCR then I save half a dozen derivations which keeps the design much simpler.

I'm creating extra metadata columns in each dimension to accomodate the Row Change Reason but was it your intent when designing the component that we use the RCR column in a dimension or was it meant to be something we output to a separate audit table?  You seem to indicate in the demo that we could use a less verbose variant of the RCR attribute, maybe that is the thinking here?

I'm also not using unicode data types in my dimensions but can't see any way of pushing our the RCR in non-unicode format.  I therefore seem to need to have a derived column transformation for each SCR output too in order to provide this attribute into the dimension rows. 

My current design is to include all the following metadata attributes in each dimension - row_create_date, row_start_date, row_end_date, row_last_update_date, row_is_current, inferred_member and row_change_reason so we've got a metadata frenzy going on here.

BTW, the WMV link for the Usage Instructions is broken (shame as my new employer doesn't like us using YouTube :(

Grateful for any guidance/direction on the best way of implementing the RCR given the above.

Coordinator
Aug 31, 2010 at 7:47 PM